Curriculum

SPIRITUAL, MORAL, SOCIAL & CULTURAL EDUCATION

In today’s world, providing guidance on navigating the complexities of modern life is perhaps more pertinent than ever. At no point in history has our access to information and diverse opinion been so readily available and as societies across the world become increasingly globalised, so must our thinking and teaching evolve accordingly.

With this comes an increased responsibility to help our young people form their own ideas that have sound foundations in fairness, fact and tolerance.

Our educational programme covers a broad variety of issues that range from the personal such as mental health, relationships and bullying to awareness of societal topics such as religion, racism and gang violence. These themes are sensitively covered at a level that is appropriate to individual year groups.

Full details of this year’s SMSC Plan for SHS will be available here in the next few weeks. Please check back to find out more or email office@shs.worcs.sch.uk

Dates for SMSC Days:

Day 1     Monday 16 October 2017

Day 2     Wednesday 22 November 2017

Day 3     Friday 16 February 2018

Day 4     Tuesday 26 June 2018

 

Sexual Relationship Education (SRE) Sessions will be held during Period 1 of the following days:

Thursday 5 October 2017

Tuesday 28 November 2017

Friday 12 January 2018

Monday 5 March 2018

Wednesday 23 May 2018

Thursday 6 July 2018